Cyberbullying

Hey lovely’s! Today’s post is about cyber-bullying. I know my recent post haven’t been responses but I wanted to post this because of an article I recently read for school.

Image result for cyberbully

Cyberbullying

Bullies and mean girls have been around forever but since social media networks have taken over our lives it has become easier for them to attack their peers online and get away with it. “Sticks and stones” is a phrase we all know but with modern technology and real world bullying children are not able to escape the torment of their peers which can lead to serious emotional and physical trauma.

EFFECTS OF CYBERBULLYING

For kids and teens who are victims of cyberbullying there is no escape. Cyberbullying can happen 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Before, kids could go home after school and leave the bullies behind but with social media networks like Facebook and Instagram available to most children, bullies have full access to several ways to anonymously hurt their peers.

“I’ve had my Facebook for 3 or so years. i woke up one morning and someone had clearly hacked it. My name was whora cum-stain, and there were some very hurtful things posted about me on there. The internet is a clear target for someone to get hurt. It’s clearly very easy to access your information. I don’t have a Facebook anymore and I’m starting to appreciate not having one. I never want to go through that again.” – 16 year-old girl from Canada

Hannah Smith, a 14 year old from Lutterworth, Leicestershire, England, hanged herself in her bedroom on August 3rd, 2013. For several weeks before her death she had been subjected to cruel insults and taunts about her body on the popular social media site, Ask.fm. After Hannah’s death, her sister starting receiving abusive messages on Facebook mocking her loss and blaming her father saying “it’s his fault his daughter’s dead, he should have been a better parent.”

FIGHTING BACK

In 2011 Muse Entertainment released the movie Cyberbully starring Emily Osment who plays a teenage girl names Taylor Hillridge who tries to commit suicide after falling victim to cyberbullying. The movie helped many teens get the courage to come forward about their bullying situation.  An anonymous review left on commensensemedia.org about the movie cyberbully says…

“Cyberbully is mainly saying if you’re being bullied you should stand up for yourself or tell someone like a teacher or parent or administrator or etc… Take me for example…. I was bullied for 8 years EIGHT and it was as soon as i transferred to public school in the 3rd grade. It took until I got into Middle school for it to get really bad. I got into a fight because of it and there was this group of girls who I hated, they were picking on me I mean everytime I show up at school they were always right there and they would tell me to do stuff like Lick the ice cream of someone’s shoe or eat my lipstick or carry our books and projects and they would call me fat, ugly, godzilla, acne face, jacka…, donkey kong, donkey brains, etc… But all i’m saying is don’t wait as long as i did to get help help. I got help but it didn’t do anything, one teacher hated me so he joined in too. But it’s never too late to get help!!!”

CONCLUSION

If you or anyone you know is suffering from bullying of any kind whether online or in person you should get help immediately, you should find a trusted adult and tell them about your situation. You should know that you are not fat, ugly, or stupid. Bullies are just as insecure as the rest of us but they are projecting their own insecurities onto you. You shouldn’t listen to what they say because they don’t know you, they don’t control you, you are beautiful and strong and they can’t tear you down.

Works Cited

Puresight.com

Commonsensemedia.org

Stopbullying.gov

XOXO, Krista Nicole 3

2 thoughts on “Cyberbullying

Leave a Reply

