Millennials In The Workplace Reflection.

Hey lovely’s! I know I said that today was going to be a dollar tree haul but I didn’t get the chance to go last night and get everything else I needed so I’m going to be making that tomorrows post. Today’s post is a post that I wrote a long time ago but didn’t post it until today. Click the follow button to your right to join the family of lovely’s! I don’t have a name for our little community yet but if you think of one please let me know in the comments down below. Check me out on social media. Links down below.

Twitter: @kristanicole13

Instagram: @krista.nicole.m

Recently a video has become very popular on Facebook and other social media sites such at YouTube, the video is by Simon Sinek on Millennials in the workplace. For those of you who don’t know millennials are people who were born after 1984. In the video he basically talks about how people are entitled and how they are basically addicted to social media and the chemical dopamine they feel when they get a text or a like on sites like Instagram or Twitter. This is going to my reaction or response to the video and what I took away from the video. If you want to watch to watch the video yourself click the link copy and paste the link here…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hER0Qp6QJNU\

         In the video Simon Sinek says that parents are telling their kids that they are special and that they can get anything they want in life. To me the phrase you can have anything you want in life means that if you want something you have to work for it because you aren’t going to get it just because you want it, you have to do the work in order to get the reward. I was raised to believe that the world is a tough place and you aren’t going to survive for very long if you don’t work for what you want and wanting something isn’t enough you have to go and get it yourself because when you are thirty or fourty your mom won’t be saving you from your mistakes you have to learn all by yourself.

             The video also touches on self-esteem and self-confidence. I think that many young people don’t really understand self-esteem they either think it’s means loving yourself or they don’t know what it is at all. Self-esteem is having respect for yourself, many people nowadays don’t have respect for themselves because their parents always told them that they were special and then when it was time for them to leave the nest they fell on their faces because they realized that they are not special, there are 7 billion people in this world and they are just finding out that they may not make a difference. So many people want to make an impact on the world but they don’t how to do that, they don’t know how to put in the work to reach there goals. I for one have always been told that life doesn’t come easy and I think that makes me very lucky because many people don’t have the advantage of knowing how tough the world is, they think it’s all rainbows and unicorns and then one day they don’t get what they want and it’s hit them like a freight train.

Simon Sinek talks about dopamine and how it’s highly addictive, I was asked a question today that I really want to share with you. My teacher asked me “How can you relate to feel good emotion (dopamine), of getting a response through technology?” And this is what I said. I can relate to the feel good emotion because sometimes when you think you look ugly or you aren’t feeling very good about yourself and you get a like on your profile picture it reassures you that you are in fact beautiful even if you don’t think it all the time. I can also relate to this when I’m playing a game on my phone or on the Xbox and I beat the level I get really excited because I accomplished something and it’s addictive because you want to keep feeling the accomplishment, also when I’m watching a TV show and something really dramatic happens it makes you want to watch more and more episodes like when I watch Netflix I always say i’m only going to watch one episode and I end up watching a whole season because the feeling of the suspense and the joy from watching other people screw their lives up just as much as you do can be really addicting. I also think that technology provides an escape from reality for teenagers because our lives are really complicated right now and we use social media especially as a tool to make our lives seem perfect. We get so distracted by things that don’t even matter but that’s what happens when you grow up in a world where new technology is constantly being created. I’ve seen one or two year old playing on phones or iPad’s and I think it’s so ridiculous because I never even had WiFi until about two years ago so before then I never really cared about Facebook or Instagram but now with no age restriction we are prone to technology addiction even if we don’t realize it.

I’m starting a quote of the day ritual so today’s quote is…

"Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations." - Unknown

XOXO, Krista Nicole 3

Leave a Reply

