Planning My Future!

Hey lovely’s! So that now I’m a freshman in high school I decided it was time to sit down and plan my future. I’m a very goal oriented person so for me it’s important to know that my future is planned which gives me something to look forward to and use as a reminder to keep my grades up and be the best student and person that I can be. I know less than a month ago I made a post talking about nursing but my plans have completely changed. I’m the type of person who throws myself completely into everything I do and when the thought of nursing crossed my mind it seemed so glamorous and I thought I had my mind made on becoming a nurse but after much consideration and looking over the nursing field thoroughly I have decided that nursing, at least for how I see my now, isn’t something that I want to do with the rest of my life. That isn’t to say that I don’t think nursing isn’t a wonderful job because it is and I am so appreciate that we have a lot of people who are passionate about nursing but like I said earlier, right now, I just don’t see myself becoming a nurse. You’re probably wondering why I keep saying right now it isn’t for me and that is because I don’t ever want to say that I can’t change my mind and decide that nursing is right for me. I am still very passionate about nursing and I think nursing would be a great career and maybe one day after college and after a successful career in journalism I’ll decide to go back to school or get my CNA and become a nurse. Anyways, today I want to talk to you guys about my plans for my future and share some tips on how you can plan your future too.

Side note: I don’t have it all figured out, I mean let’s be honest, no one really does. This plan is just something that I’ve made and want to stick to but I know everything will not go according to plan and that’s ago. Don’t think you have to have it all put together because trust me you won’t, you’ll think one thing one day and think a completely different thing the next. It’s just the way the world works.

First, let me share with you what I want to study in college and give a little background on why I chose these specific fields of study. I want to double major in Journalism and Political Science. I chose journalism because as you know I love to write and writing is my number one passion, always has been, always will be so it just makes sense to me that writing be a part of my future career. Why I chose journalism instead of English or another writing field was because it just felt right, I know that sounds weird but as soon I read the word journalism something just clicked and I knew it’s what I want to do for the rest of my life. I chose political science or politics because I’ve always been very curious about politics and about the way the government works and I want to explore that further in college and with my career.

My ideal future career would be working as an investigative journalist, specifically in the field of politics and political corruption. I know that when I first get out of college I’m not going to get my dream career but I hope that as I gain more experience I can work my way up the ladder and eventually land a position in my dream job. I chose investigative journalism because like I said before I’ve always been very curious and after looking over this career field I think  I know that it’s the right career for me and I know 100% that I am going to stick with it.

Ideally, in ten years I would love to be living in Washington DC working for a major news outlet. The reason I want to live in DC is because that is where a lot of political events take place. One day I would love to be a great enough journalist to get the chance to sit down with the president and interview him or her. Honestly, I can’t wait until the day when I can sit down and look back on this moment and realize that all of dreams have come true. I do plan on having a family in the future as well but for this post I decided to keep it more education and career oriented just because I have no idea when I’ll start a family, could be in ten years or fifteen, who knows!

This post turned out way longer than expected so tomorrow’s post will be tips on how to plan your future and I’ll end this post here. Thanks so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed. I’m really tired so I’m going to head to bed. Bye! ❤

XOXO, Krista Nicole 3

2 Comments

  1. You have so many goals and aspirations! I just finished my freshman year of college, and let me tell you…the two aren’t that different. Keep your mind open to exploring as many different classes, adventures, and explorations that you can. You’ll learn so much about yourself and about all the different things and places in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

